Oscar Predictions

 

Why wasnt I invited to the Oscars?  Oh..yeah.

Vote!

 

 

Gotta get my Oscar predictions in fast, as I’ve had a long day with my niece getting married and all.  So here goes:

Best Picture: Slumdog Millionaire.  There’s a chance it will not win, like there’s a chance the Internet will close down next week.

Best Director: Danny Boyle, Slumdog Millionaire.  The pureness of his style will carry him through.

Best Actor: I know it’s probably going to go to Sean Penn, but I hope Mickey Rourke gets it.  Toss-up.  An even better outcome?  The votes split and actor’s actor Frank Langhella takes it.  Frank in Dracula made me want to get into acting.  Okay, I’ll just stick with one prediction and say Sean Penn.

Best Actress:  Kate Winslet

Best Supporting Actor: No debate; Heath

Best Supporting Actress: Taraji P. Henson.  Gotta say her performance lit up Benjamin Button brighter that the whole technical feat that blinded us.  Plus I’d really like to see her play Susannah in The Dark Tower.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Slumdog Millionaire.

Best Original Screenplay: WALL-E.  Plus he’ll win for best animated, that lil cutie.

Best Score: Slumdog Millionaire

Best Art Direction: Slumdog Millionaire

Best Cinematography: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.  I mean, seriously.  That’s the best part of the movie, aside from the makeup, which will also take home a trophy.

Best Editing: My favorite category, and I’m at a loss.  The three films I saw were edited very well, with accentuation on propelling the story forward.  I’m going to go out on a limb here, and say they’ll give it to Frost/Nixon, which I have yet to see.  But don’t be surprised if they give it to Slumdog.

Update: See what happens when you’re in a hurry?  I swapped my predictions for Art Direction and Cinematography by accident.  So, I’m not a bloody idiot, okay?  SM wasn’t even nominated for Art Direction.  Gah!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

