Unfairly Obscure: I Love You to Death

In my post, Great Movies That Don’t Get Major Play, I listed five flicks that have become what I’d call Unfairly Obscure. So in that vein, and since I keep thinking of others that (other than word-of-mouth) aren’t all that well-known, I’ll just update this new category now and then.

First up, I Love You to Death. Sandwiched between Lawrence Kasdan’s The Big Chill and Grand Canyon, this comedy wins over every person I’ve ever shown it to. Kasdan favorite Kevin Kline is an unfaithful husband to the wholesome/batty Tracey Ullman, and a cast right out of ensemble nirvana carry out his punishment: to be put out of his philandering misery.

Sample scene here featuring the brilliant William Hurt, the perfectly cast Keanu Reeves, and the tragically-talented River Phoenix.

(YouTube Link)

More River Phoenix clips at river1983.

And speaking of River and Keanu, I remember spotting Reeves walking through Northwest Portland around 1991, and tried to circle back in my car to catch up, but lost him. I had wondered about it, and if it was real, when I later learned that he and Phoenix had spent a month or so living in a house in Portland, researching their roles for My Own Private Idaho. They even jammed out with bassist Flea, and Phoenix comes across as someone very serious about his craft here, in this rare video of the creative process.

(YouTube Link)

(Poster: Tri-Star Pictures)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

