This is the market

I had a referral for someone who wanted to list an estate, sent through professional channels, and the proposal went something like this:

“I am one of four heirs, and I am having to spread this estate out over four people, so I was wondering, what is your commission rate?”

“6%”

“Well, we were actually looking to pay 4.”

“Call someone else.”

“…..what?  Call someone…don’t you want my business?”

“Of course I want your business, but if you’re looking for someone to just stick a sign in your yard, call someone else.  I sell my listings, and that means marketing, lots of photos, and other things the other guys won’t do.  I don’t want you to end up angry with me because your house didn’t sell.  If you follow my program, you’ll have the best chance of getting a buyer. Period.”

“Okay, let’s set up a time for you to come by.”

 

There wasn’t even a need to tell her about the 25% referral fee that will be deducted from the commission.

Leave a Reply

