Talking In Movie Quotes

 

They got cool shirts there!

They got cool shirts there!

 

 

Many of us say classic lines from movies in everyday conversation, stuff like “You’re gonna need a bigger (boat)”, “I’ll make him an offer he can’t refuse”, or the vaguely annoying “Stupid is as stupid does.”  

I tend to use movie quotes that not a lot of people know, especially in my business.  Oh, I’ll get the occasional person who actually laughs and responds when I say “Run away!” in my very non-Graham Chapman way.  But there’s a few I say that are only for my amusement.  Such as:

“I’m wrong.  I’m Wrong Roy!”  
I swear this is in the original version, if not the remastered weirdness that is Close Encounters of the Third Kind.

“It’ll work, Philip.”
From Fandango.  It’s from the fateful scene where they try to get a tow from a passing freight train, and Costner’s character sounds so certain in his declaration, I must use it whenever I’m about to attempt something foolish.

“Yes they do.  Don’t they, tho?”
Yeah, again…a few older people get it, but not a lot of people are really hip to Yellow Submarine.

“It’s Over, Johnny!”
Yeah, you know it’s from First Blood, but people near me think I’m just being a defeatist.

“Get ’em up against the wall!”
Pink Floyd The Wall also always comes to mind whenever I hear someone say, “Fuck me!” in squalid desperation, which is kind of frequently these days.

“Truck?  What truck?”
Again, people think I’m seriously unaware of the truck they just mentioned, and need to go on describing it, year, make and model.  I’m probably just too much of a Raiders of the Lost Ark fan. 

“In the car?  No, man, it’s not in the car.”
Often in response to a similar comment, this sometimes elicits puzzled looks from those who haven’t seen Scarface more than once.   (Link NSFW)

Actually, I used to say “That’s some bad hat, Harry.” to anyone looking good in a hat.  But that line from Jaws is now a film company’s name, so I quit using it.  All in all, I wonder if I missed some.  I live in the world of movies as often as I can.  It’s inevitable the parts I remember would spill over into my conversations.  Surely, you’d think I’m mad, but it’s actually a kind of therapy for me.

And don’t call me Shirley.

5 Responses to Talking In Movie Quotes

  1. McRachel says:

    Very super! Wonderfully obscure quotes. I’m going to have to Fandango again after reading this. I’m a born lever puller though.

  2. […] 2009 I posted about my tendency to talk in movie quotes that nobody got but me. This is a quick addendum to that fine list; two one-word lines from films I […]

  3. Guneet Dave says:

    Hi there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my
    own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  4. Hello there, I discovered your site by the use of Google at the same time as looking for a comparable matter, your
    web site came up, it seems great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, just become aware of your weblog through Google, and found that
    it’s truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will appreciate for those who continue this in future.
    A lot of other people can be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  5. What’s up everybody, here every one is sharing
    these knowledge, therefore it’s pleasant to read this website, and I used to pay a quick visit this web site daily.

Leave a Reply

