The Road Warrior

(YouTube Link)

I remember exactly where I was when I first saw this trailer for The Road Warrior.  It was the Westgate theater in Beaverton, Oregon. My friend and I were doing a double date, and were prepared to be awed by the premiere of Blade Runner. I remember him actually mocking this preview (we’d never heard of Mel Gibson or Mad Max before) and saying it looked stupid. I remember laughing along with him politely, but internally telling myself, “This looks so amazing!”

Needless to say, it’s one of my favorite movies ever. What George Miller created with a shoestring budget is fairly unequaled, and still impresses the kiddos today. Oh, and the editing in that trailer is pretty good. I like how they inserted The Gyro Captain into the scene where Max delivers his best line: “You wanna get outta here? You talk to me.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

