Joe Tex

Ever since Joe Tex was unearthed and featured by Quentin Tarantino in Reservoir Dogs (I Gotcha!), his music found its way to me sporadically. I first saw the song, “The Love You Save (May Be Your Own)” in Jesus’ Son with Billy Crudup singing along in a drunkenly-soulful way; then, Tarantino used it again in Death Proof.

Here’s a few I wouldn’t mind seeing in future movies, but essentially I wanted to share them for their specific sonic qualities.

S.Y.S.L.J.F.M. –

(YouTube Link)

A Woman’s Hand –

(YouTube Link)

And an actual video of the poor man’s James Brown in action, performing the call and response I immediately liked upon first hearing it, SKINNY LEGS and All. (Also the title of a really good book!):

(YouTube Link)

The first video (S.Y.S.L.J.F.M.) will always be my personal fav, because even after many, many listenings… I can never remember how the letter sequences go. It’s an impressive piece of work.

He’s a slice of old fashioned goodness.

Leave a Reply

