Is Wikipedia About to Charge/Change?

In this Appeal from Wikipedia founder Jimmy Wales, it seems the Wiki sources are up against that ancient threat we all have to face: funding. Apparently, the situation is this… Mucho dinero via contributions from the general user public, or advertisements may soon be a part of the Wikimedia experience. Or users will have to pay.

I’m placing my bets on the ads.

5 Responses to Is Wikipedia About to Charge/Change?

  1. I won’t lift a finger to support Wikipedia until they unlock their entry on planet Pluto and allow both sides of this debate to be freely expressed.

  2. Bo says:

    I have no problem with going for advertising. They work hard to run a good site and the deserve to be compensated. Ads may be annoying but not as annoying as having to go further out of my way for information. However, should they decide to become a pay site I’ll never visit them again, just as I’m sure the majority of people will do. IF that happens we’ll see anoter such site pop up soon afterwards.

  3. jean-philippe says:

    I don’t know how I would react to ads on Wikipedia. Should I stop using public transit because a car can be ad free?
    Not a lot of “good things” can turn down both ads and government support and solely live on public donations.

  4. It would be sad if advertising were to affect the content, you know. They’ve already got enough problems with companies editing the entries for their products.

  5. Baghead Kelly says:

    I love the good cop, bad cop approach of Jimmy Wales and Brandon Harris, especially Brandon Harris. I’ve seen more meat on a butchers pencil. If Wikipedia dropped off the radar it would be a shame but the big bad web would roll on without it.

Leave a Reply

